Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Read With Me Wednesday: Stardust

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a Read With Me Wednesday, I love reading but don’t always have time!  Yesterday I just finished a fun little novel by Neil Gaiman, Stardust.  Have you ever read any of his books?  This is the second Neil Gaiman book I’ve read.  The first, The Graveyard Book, I loved, a lot.  Different.  But very enjoyable.  And not as creepy as the title leads you to believe. 

imageI was interested in reading Stardust, for two reasons.  First, as I said, I enjoyed The Graveyard Book.  Second, my Sister-In-Laws love the movie Stardust based on the book.  I enjoyed the book, I finished it fairly quickly, which for me is an indication that I liked it.  Books I don’t like as much, usually take me awhile to finish.  But to be quite honest, I liked the movie better!  I don’t think this has EVER happened to me before!  I don’t know quite what it was, but the movie is just so darn cute!  I wonder if I had read the book first, I might feel differently.  I liked the book, it’s not like I hated it, but it’s not going on my favorite list anytime soon.  Have you read the book and seen the movie?  Do you feel this way or is it just me?



by Neil Gaiman
272 pages

{ Review}
Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. His adventures in the magical land will keep you turning pages as fast as you can--he and the star escape evil old witches, deadly clutching trees, goblin press-gangs, and the scheming sons of the dead Lord of Stormhold. The story is by turns thrillingly scary and very funny. You'll love goofy, earnest Tristran and the talking animals, gnomes, magic trees, and other irresistible denizens of Faerie that he encounters in his travels. Stardust is a perfect read-aloud book, a brand-new fairy tale you'll want to share with a kid, or maybe hoard for yourself.


  1. I loved the movie Stardust. I'll try to find the book to read to see what I think. I just finished a book called Revolution by Jennifer Donelly that I LOVED. I think you would like it - next time I see you I'll try to remember to bring it to you if you haven't read it by then. I'm in the middle of Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson. Have you read that one? Love it. I got the other three books back, by the way. Thank you! Happy reading.


{Thanks for taking time to stop by!}

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...